Blood Alcohol Content and DUI in Utah
Drunk Driving Defense
If you have a blood alcohol content that is over .08% then you can be charged with a DUI in Utah. A DUI is a Class B misdemeanor in the state of Utah and is punishable by a fine, jail or community service, rehabilitation, or a suspension of your driver’s license for 120 days (and longer for subsequent offenses). Punishments for first time offenders are usually different. Two days of jail or forty eight hours of community service as well as a minimum fine of over $1000 is usual for first time offenders. If you are charged with a first offense DUI conviction, it is possible that your car may be impounded for a period of one to thirty days at your expense.
If your blood alcohol content reaches over .16% it is possible that the judge may require, at your expense, an Ignition Interlock Device to be installed into your car. An Ignition Interlock Device makes it impossible for you to drive if there is any alcohol within your system. The care cannot start unless you blow into the device and it detects no alcohol.
It is illegal for individuals under the age of 21 to have any alcohol in their blood. If an underage individual is driving with a blood alcohol content that exceeds .08% then that individual can be charged as an adult. Jail time for someone underage may be served in a juvenile correctional facility.
Get the DUI Defense You Need
If you have been charged with a DUI, a lawyer can help diminish criminal penalties, possibly get your charges dismissed, or your charges acquitted at trial. Salcido Law Firm is a firm consisting of competent and well experienced criminal defense attorneys who will do their best to help you in your case. If you are hoping to get an attorney for your DUI case, call 801.618.1334 to schedule a free consultation and speak with one of our criminal defense attorneys.