Caught Driving Without An Interlock in Utah

Attorneys Defending Against Interlock Violations

Utah has very strict ignition interlock laws and there are several offenses that will lead you to become an ignition interlock restricted driver.  For example, if you have been convicted of a Utah DUI, you will become an ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) for 18 months.

If you are under 21 years of age and convicted of a DUI you will be an IRD for three years.

If you are already and IRD and you are convicted of driving without an interlock you will be an IRD for another three years.

Driving without an interlock in Utah is a class B misdemeanor.
Is your interlock installed?

If you were pulled over and arrested for DUI but you refused to take a chemical test you will become an IRD for three years.

If you are convicted of a felony DUI you will be an IRD for six years.

If you are convicted of driving under the influence and cause the death of another, you will be an IRD for 10 years.

The Machines Are Fallible

Time and again we have seen IRDs who are haled into court after failing the ignition interlock device when they had no alcohol in their system whatsoever, or when the something else has caused the failure.  There is a margin of error on ignition interlock machines and they can fail for various reasons that have nothing to do with alcohol. Our defense lawyers will work tirelessly to make sure that the failure was not the result of a faulty machine, because if it is a faulty machine that will negate the charges against you.

Never Go to Court Alone

An ignition violation should be taken as seriously as a DUI and our attorneys are the best equipped to defend you against the many potential penalties of violating your IRD status.  So, when you get caught driving without an interlock in Utah, contact us anyway you like. Salcido Law Firm gives free consultations for those accused of crimes.  801.413.1753.

For more information concerning the laws surrounding the interlock restriction and what could happen if you get caught driving without an interlock in Utah, click here to visit the Department of Public Safety’s website on the issue.