Don’t Get Caught by Utah’s New .05 DUI Law
The Strictest DUI Law in the Country with a .05 Limit
Every year, hundreds of thousands of people across the United States are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol, but Utah has set a new legal limit of .05, making it even more likely individuals can be charged with DUI. Having a DUI on your record can cause a variety of problems. In addition to the shame and humiliation of a mugshot, a DUI can leave you with a permanent record that will haunt you for the rest of your life. A DUI can increase vehicle insurance rates and even disqualify you from some types of jobs.
In most of the United States, a DUI is defined by having more than .08% blood alcohol concentration. However, Utah has lowered that standard to .05%. For the average adult, it’s often possible to reach a .08% blood alcohol concentration by drinking three or more alcoholic beverages. However, many people can reach a .05% blood alcohol concentration after less than two drinks.
Utah’s new standards leave little room for error. If you consume two drinks at a meal with friends, you could be in danger of receiving a .05 DUI. Even though Utah’s standards are much more stringent than other states, you’ll receive the same criminal charge for much less.
Because of this, it’s more important than ever to protect yourself if you’re driving in Utah. As a rule of thumb, try to avoid having any drinks at all within 8 hours of driving. If you’ve had a lot of drinks, consider waiting at least 24 hours before getting behind the wheel. This will significantly reduce your odds of receiving a .05 DUI.
If you are pulled over by a police officer in Utah, there are several important steps to remember. While it’s important to comply with an officer if he or she asks for your personal information, you are not required to answer any questions concerning the amount of alcohol that you have consumed. If you are concerned you have had too much to drink, always keep your mouth shut.
A police officer may ask you to get out of your car and do a roadside sobriety test. While you must get out of your car if an officer tells you to do so, you always have the right to decline a roadside sobriety test. However, an officer can still arrest you. If you did not complete a roadside sobriety test, you may be at better odds of winning a DUI case in court. However, the best way to avoid any issues is by not drinking.