Object Rape | Penalties

Legal defense against object rape charges
Contact one of our attorneys for defense against object rape charges

What is Object Rape?

Ranking among the most serious of sexual offenses in Utah, object rape is the nonconsensual penetration, however slight, of the genital or anal opening of a person, with an object with the intent to sexually gratify any person or to cause serious emotional or bodily pain to the victim. See Utah Code 76-5-404.2.

The “object” can be any part of the human body other than those parts of the body involved in sexual intercourse and oral sex. The most common “object” in these types of cases is the human finger.

Conviction of this crime is a first degree felony and has a matrix of potential prison times:

  • 5 years to life: This is the standard minimum prison time, but under this penalty prison is not mandatory.
  • 15 years to life: A judge will imposed this amount of prison if the defendant cause the victim serious bodily injury during the commission of the object rape or if the defendant was younger than 18 years old when he committed the crime but had previously been convicted of a grievous sexual crime. Prison is mandatory in this scenario.
  • Life without parole: This applies if the defendant was 18 or older when he committed the crime and had previously been convicted of a grievous sexual crime. Prison is mandatory when these facts are present.
  • 6 years to life or 10 years to life: If the 15 years to life sentence would normally apply but the judge finds that the interests of justice require a lesser sentence, he can apply either a 6 to life or 10 to life sentence. The judge must put his findings on the record.

Salcido Law Firm is one of the most experienced firms in the state in representing defendants who have been accused of object rape and object rape of a child. Contact one of our attorneys today for a free consultation.