Not A Drop

Not a Drop Defense Lawyer in Utah

Minor in Possession

Utah not a drop defense lawyer.
The not a drop rule means just that.

When it comes to the sale, purchase, and distribution of alcohol to minors, Utah has what is known as the “not a drop” law.  It means exactly what it sounds like.  It is a crime for a minor to have in his possession any alcoholic beverage or to ingest any alcoholic beverage.  Specifically it is unlawful for a minor to:

  • buy an alcoholic product such as beer, wine, wine coolers, or liquor;
  • attempt to even buy such a product;
  • ask someone else to buy an alcoholic product for him;
  • even have in his possession an alcoholic product (such as having a 6-pack in the trunk of the minor’s car);
  • consume any type of alcoholic beverage; and,
  • having any amount of alcohol in his body.

No Exceptions for Minors Who Possess or Have Consumed Alcohol

Utah is extremely strict on its “not-a-drop” law.  It makes no exceptions.  The State and municipality attorneys prosecute these offenses without the least bit of sympathy or understanding.  For example, you may have just arrived home after grocery shopping and left beer in the trunk of your car.  You bring all of the groceries in except the beer and your 16 year old then takes the car to work or a friend’s house.  Along the way he gets pulled over and the vehicle is searched.  The officer finds the beer and cites your 16 year old with minor in possession.  The prosecutor does not care.  In such a situation your minor will need the expertise provided by Salcido Law Firm PLLC. We have significant experience in defending such cases and will bring our knowledge to the defense of your minor.

Penalties for Possessing or Consuming Alcohol

One of the worst parts about a conviction for minor in possession of alcohol is that the minor will lose his driver’s license – it does not matter if the minor was not driving or even in a car.  If he was drinking at a party, he will lose his license.  If he was drinking in his back yard, he will lose his license.  The loss of the driver’s license is in addition to any other fines and penalties imposed by the court.

Get Protected!

If your minor is facing charges for violating the “not a drop” rule call us a Utah not a drop defense lawyer at 801.413.1753. We are ready to defend your son or daughter.  With offices in Salt Lake and Provo we are easily accessible.