Utah Courts Charge High Filing Fee for Divorce

Filing fees for different types of cases vary from state to state.  According to findthedata.org, however, the State of Utah charges one of the highest filling fees to start a divorce action.  Utah courts charge a filing fee of $310.00 to file a divorce petition.  This number is slightly inaccurate because Utah courts also require an $8.00 fee to accompany a vital statistics form that is required as part of every divorce.  So, a person filing for divorce in Utah can expect to pay $318.00 for the court to handle his or her divorce.

There were only 7 states that charge a higher filing fee than Utah. The list included New York and California which are often associated with higher price goods and services.  The state with the lowest filing fee is Mississippi at $52.  Minnesota has the highest filing fee at $402.

Send Us A Message

More Posts

When is a protective sweep justified?

What Is A Protective Sweep?

A Protective Sweep is an Exception to the Warrant Rule. Generally speaking, law enforcement officers cannot enter your home to conduct a search without a