Sex Crimes Getting You On the Utah Sex Offender Registry

Utah Crimes Which Put You on the Registry

The list of crimes which will get you on the Utah Sex Offender Registry includes:

  • enticing a minor;
  • sexual exploitation of a vulnerable adult;
  • unlawful sexual activity with a minor;
  • sexual abuse of a minor;
  • unlawful sexual conduct with a 16 or 17 year old;
  • rape;
  • rape of a child;
  • object rape;
  • object rape of a child;
  • forcible sodomy;
  • sodomy on a child;
  • forcible sexual abuse;
  • sexual abuse of a child or aggravated sexual abuse of a child;
  • aggravated sexual assault;
  • custodial sexual relations;
  • sexual exploitation of a minor;
  • incest;
  • lewdness, if the person has been convicted of the offense four or more times;
  • sexual battery, if the person has been convicted of the offense four or more times;
  • any combination of convictions of lewdness and sexual battery that total four or more convictions;
  • lewdness involving a child;
  • a felony or class A misdemeanor voyeurism; and
  • aggravated exploitation of prostitution.

Lifetime Versus Temporary Registration

Some of the above listed crimes require the offender to register for 10 years.  Others are lifetime.  Those crimes which require a lifetime registration include:

child kidnapping;
rape;
rape of a child;
object rape;
object rape of a child;
sodomy on a child;
aggravated sexual abuse of a child; or
aggravated sexual assault;
a felony violation of enticing a minor over the Internet;
aggravated kidnapping, except if the offender is a natural parent of the victim;
forcible sodomy;
sexual abuse of a child;
sexual exploitation of a minor; and
aggravated exploitation of prostitution.

What Registration Require?

Lifetime registrants are required to register every year during their birth month and six months thereafter, that is, twice a year.  Further, anytime registrants move they have to register within 3 days of moving.  Those registrants who only have to register for 10 years have to do so similarly twice a year during their birth month and six months thereafter.   Additionally, the offender has to provide the following:

  • all names and aliases;
  • all addresses;
  • a physical description, including the date of birth, height, weight, eye and hair color;
  • the make, model, color, year, plate number, and vehicle identification number of any vehicle or vehicles owned or regularly driven;
  • a current photograph;
  • fingerprints;
  • a DNA specimen;
  • telephone numbers;
  • Internet identifiers and addresses;
  • the name and Internet address of all websites on which the offender is registered using an online identifier;
  • a copy of the passport;
  • immigration documentation;
  • professional licenses;
  • identification of every school where the offender is either a student or employed;
  • identification of employment;
  • identification of any place where the offender does volunteer work; and
  • Social Security number.

If you are facing a sex crime in Utah call our criminal defense attorneys.  We work hard to protect you from the terrible consequences of having to register as a sex offender. Call us at 801.413.1753 for an immediate consultation if you are facing serious a serious sex offense.