When is a DUI Charged as a Felony?
Typically a DUI is charged as a misdemeanor offense. There are instances, however, in which a DUI will be charged as a felony offense. The difference between a felony and misdemeanor is great. The maximum incarceration time for a misdemeanor DUI is 1 year in jail. The maximum incarceration time for a felony DUI is 5 years.
In Utah, a DUI will be increased to a felony charge if the defendant had two other DUI convictions within the previous 10 years, there was serious bodily injury which occurred as a result of a car accident, or the defendant had a prior DUI conviction. Thus, even if you have never got behind the wheel while under the influence of alcohol and you do it just one time and you get in an accident which results in someone becoming seriously injured, you are looking at 0-5 years in prison.
Other Utah Felony DUI Penalties
If convicted of a felony DUI in Utah, you will, at a minimum, be sent to jail for 62 days. Other penalties include a minimum $1,500 fine with surcharges added, 240 hours of professional alcohol treatment, interlock device for six year, potential in home confinement, and you will become an alcohol restricted driver for life. That means not-a-drop if you intend to get behind a wheel. You will also lose your driver’s license for two years.
Salcido Law Firm – Successful Felony DUI Defenders
The criminal defense lawyers at Salcido Law Firm have more than forty years combined experience in defending against felony DUIs. Furthermore, a big difference between Salcido Law Firm and other firms is that we have significant felony DUI trial experience. A felony DUI is no small matter, and it is no small matter to win such a case. Our attorneys have tasted numerous times the sound of “not guilty” in felony DUI trials.
Let us help you if you are facing these serious charges. Call our law firm anytime at 801.618.1334. With offices in Salt Lake City and Provo our attorneys are in a position to serve all of Utah.