Misdemeanor and Felony Punishments in Utah
DUI and Other Crimes Have a Range of Punishments in Utah
When people in Utah are charged with a crime, such as DUI, their main concern is what is the punishment going to be. Punishments for a crime such as DUI can include a fine, jail, prison, community, lose of privileges (such a driver’s license being revoked), probation, and social consequences. Understandably, people do not want to suffer any of these consequences. The unfortunate reality, however, is that if convicted of a crime like DUI, people will suffer some sort of punishment. The only questions then are what is the punishment and how harsh will it be? A Utah criminal defense attorney can help protect individuals from unfair and extreme punishments.
Felony and Misdemeanors in Utah
The severity of the punishment depends on the severity of the crime. A DUI can range from a felony to a misdemeanor. The difference between a felony and a misdemeanor in Utah is an important one, because felonies allow for harsher penalties than misdemeanors do. In Utah, there are four classes of felonies, first, second, third, and a capital felony. A capital felony is the worst crime one can commit. The punishment for a capital felony can be execution or up to life in prison without parole. A first degree felony provides a punishment from 5 years up to life in prison and a $10,000 fine. A second degree felony provides a punishment for 1 to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. A third degree felony provides for a punishment for 0 to 5 years in prison with a $5,000 fine.
The majority of criminal offenses in Utah are misdemeanors. A DUI is very often a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor is a less serious crime than a felony so the punishments are not as severe. Misdemeanors are divided into class A’s, B’s, and C’s. A class A misdemeanor is punishable up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine. A class B misdemeanor is punishable up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. A class C misdemeanor is punishable up to 90 days in jail and a $750 fine. Judges have a fairly liberal amount of discretion in determining how much of the maximum punishment should be issued to a person so it is important to have a Utah criminal defense attorney so he work with the court to limit the punishment.
Receive Help For Your Criminal Charges
If you are facing felony or misdemeanor criminal charges, such as a DUI, make sure you have a Utah criminal defense attorney from Salcido Law Firm to keep you from a harsh and severe punishment. A Salcido Law Firm attorney will do his best to keep you from being convicted of a crime, but if you are, he will fight for a punishment that is just. Call 801.413.1753 for a free consultation with a SLF Utah criminal defense attorney today.