Understanding the Utah Divorce Laws
In looking for representation in your divorce you want competent and intelligent attorneys who understand the intricacies of the Utah Divorce Laws. At SLF we have Utah divorce and family law attorneys who understand the Utah divorce laws and can help you avoid the common pitfalls many people fall victim to who try to represent themselves through this difficult legal process. The laws in Utah regarding divorce are unique to other states in several ways. It is important for anyone who is seeking a divorce to understand some of the basic statutes involved. A divorce lawyer at Salcido Law Firm can advise you on the Utah divorce laws. Below are just a few of the divorce laws that most clients should be aware of:
Utah Family Law
Grounds for Divorce
Utah divorce laws allow for a no-fault divorce in which the parties file on the grounds of irreconcilable differences. Filing for divorce on the grounds of irreconcilable differences is the most common reason submitted to the courts. Utah also provides grounds for at-fault divorce filings which include filing for reasons of adultery, desertion, neglect, insanity, and habitual drunkenness just to name a few. Utah family law is always developing and changing so for specific questions your should speak with us over the phone or view the Utah Code for yourself online.
3 Month Requirement
In order to file for a divorce in Utah, at least one of the parties must have been a bona fide resident of the county in which their divorce is filed for 3 months prior to the filing of the divorce. This means that you OR your spouse need to have lived in Utah and the county in which you are filing for at least 3 months prior in order to file for divorce.
90-Day Waiting Period
If there are no children born of the marriage, Utah law requires that you wait at least 90 days after the divorce petition has been filed before a decree of divorce will be entered. This means that a judge will not sign off on your divorce decree unless 90 days have passed from the time the petition was filed. The Utah Divorce Attorneys at our Utah law firm petition the court to waive this requirement on your behalf but such requests are rarely granted.
Divorce Education Classes
Divorcing parents must attend two mandatory divorce education classes before a judge will enter a decree of divorce. The Utah Divorce Lawyers at Salcido Law Firm can petition the court to waive this requirement if good cause to do so exists but such requests are rarely granted. For more information on these classes, please refer to our Utah divorce class page on this website.
Utah Divorce Attorneys Who Understand the Utah Divorce Laws
Our attorneys have a exemplary understanding of the Utah divorce laws. We have the experience to effectively represent you in your divorce and family law matters. If you have any questions regarding Utah divorce laws, please do not hesitate to contact us. We can provide you with a free consultation over the phone or in our office. Call us today at 801.413.1753 or toll free at 888.337.3235.
Free Case Review
Thank You For Your Support!
SLF competed in the Tempe AZ 140.6 Ironman Race in November 2018 to help fight child abuse. Thank you everyone who supported us in this important battle.
Utah Law Firm Blog
- Who Can Be A Domestic Violence Victim in Utah?February 5, 2020
- Can Someone You Live With Give Your Computer to the Police?January 30, 2020
- Rape Shield in Utah – what it is, prohibits, and permitsOctober 11, 2019
- What is a Lesser Included Offense in a Utah Jury Trial?August 15, 2019