Do you have Utah Clandestine Laboratory Charges
In the world of illicit drug use and abuse there are many criminal charges that can accompany drugs including possession, distribution, and DUI. Interestingly, there is another charge specific to drugs for operating a “clandestine laboratory operation” for the manufacturing of controlled substances. Call us for a consultation about Utah clandestine laboratory charges.
What are Utah Clandestine Laboratory Charges?
Utah clandestine laboratory charges means any of the following:
- Purchasing or procuring chemicals, supplies, equipment, or laboratory location for the illegal manufacture of drugs;
- Transporting or arranging for the transportation of chemicals, supplies, or equipment for the illegal manufacture of drugs;
- Setting up equipment or supplies to prepare for manufacturing drugs illegally;
- Compounding, synthesizing, concentrating, purifying, separating, extracting, or other physical or chemical processing of a drug;
- The packaging, repackaging, labeling, or relabeling of a container holding a drug;
- Illegally manufacturing drugs;
- Distributing or disposing of chemicals, equipment, supplies, or products used in or produced by the illegal manufacture of drugs.
So basically, if you make drugs, you can get hit with felony charges for running a drug laboratory.
Life in Prison for Having a Drug Lab?
Utah clandestine laboratory charges can be either a second degree felony or a first degree felony.
It’s a second degree felony if the defendant does any of the following:
- Possessing substances that are used in producing drugs with the intent to engage in a clandestine laboratory operation;
- Possessing laboratory equipment or supplies with the intent to engage in a clandestine laboratory operation;
- Selling, distributing, or otherwise supplying substances that are used in producing drugs, laboratory equipment, or laboratory supplies, knowing or having reasonable cause to believe any of these items will be used for a clandestine laboratory operation;
- Evading the record keeping laws knowing or having reasonable cause to believe that the material distributed or received will be used for a clandestine laboratory operation;
- Conspiring with or aiding another to engage in a clandestine laboratory operation;
- Producing or manufacturing, or possessing with intent to produce or manufacture a drug;
- Transporting or conveying a drug with the intent to distribute or to be distributed by the person transporting or conveying the drug or by any other person regardless of whether the final destination for the distribution is within Utah; or
- Compounding, synthesizing, concentrating, purifying, separating, extracting, or otherwise processing drugs;
- Packaging, repackaging, labeling, or relabeling of a container holding a drug, knowing or having reasonable cause to believe that it is an illegal drug.
If you get hit with a second degree felony for having a drug lab it’s a minimum of 3 years in prison with a maximum of 15 years in prison.
It is a first degree felony if you commit one of the second degree felony actions and in conjunction with those actions:
- You have a firearm;
- You set booby traps;
- You transport hazardous or dangerous materials;
- The lab was within 500 feet of a residence, place of business, church, or school;
- The lab actually produced drugs; or
- It was a cocaine lab or a meth lab
If you get convicted of a first degree felony for having a drug lab you’re looking at 5 to life in prison. Serious consequences for being convicted of running a drug lab.
If charged with Utah clandestine laboratory charges, give us a call. Such charges have some of the most serious consequences and penalties of any criminal offenses so Get Protected!
Free Case Review
Thank You For Your Support!
SLF competed in the Tempe AZ 140.6 Ironman Race in November 2018 to help fight child abuse. Thank you everyone who supported us in this important battle.
Utah Law Firm Blog
- Recent Changes to Utah’s Right to Bail StatuteDecember 31, 2020
- Can Utah Police Stop Me For Objects On My Windshield?December 16, 2020
- What Custody Factors Does A Utah Court Consider?October 9, 2020
- Who Can Be A Domestic Violence Victim in Utah?February 5, 2020