DUI FAQs

Utah’s DUI Law Firm – Salt Lake City Provo DUI Attorney

If you have been charged with a Utah DUI, give us a call.  Utah’s DUI laws are stringent and unforgiving.  Salcido Law Firm can help you make sense of the charges brought against you and we’ll fight to make sure your rights are protected.  We’re standing by so give us a call at 888.337.3235 or 801.413.1753.  You can also email us if you prefer.

We hope the questions below will help you understand Utah DUI charges a little bit better.

What are the different types of Utah DUI charges?

There are a couple of different types of Utah DUI crimes:

  • First, there is DUI Metabolite, otherwise known as driving with any measureable amount of a controlled substance.  General this type of charge will stand only if the defendant gave a blood, urine, breath or other type of chemical test which showed he had a controlled substance in his body at the time of driving.
  • Second there is DUI Alcohol/Drug.  This type of charge is generally supported by a breathalyzer test.

What are the legal consequences of a Utah DUI?

Please read our Utah DUI Fines and Penalties page to understand more about the consequences of a Utah DUI conviction.

Generally speaking, you may have a minimum mandatory jail sentence of at least 24 to 48 hours after you have been arrested and charged with a first time DUI. Additionally, a first time DUI conviction may result in the suspension of your license, mandatory DUI Education Courses, a fine, and other penalties.

What if I have more than one DUI conviction?

Please read our Utah DUI Fines and Penalties page to understand more about the consequences of a Utah DUI conviction.

If you are convicted of a second Utah DUI within ten years you will be facing ten days minimum of jail time more than a thousand dollars in fines and a two year suspension of your driver’s license.

If you are convicted of a third Utah DUI within ten years you can be sentenced to a third degree felony, be imprisoned for five years, and pay more than $5,000 in fines.

Will I lose my Utah driver’s license?

Please read our Hearings Before the Driver’s License Division page to understand more about what will happen to your driver’s license if convicted of a Utah DUI.

If you are convicted of a Utah DUI chances are you will lose your driver’s license for at least some time.  On a first offense you will lose it for a minimum 120 days.  On subsequent convictions within a ten year period you can lose your license for up to two years.

If you have been charged with a Utah  DUI Metabolite or Utah DUI Alcohol/Drug violation you must request a hearing with the Driver’s License Division within ten days.  If you don’t your license wil be automatically suspended.